Home

About two years ago I was getting ready to pack up my life and move to Japan for a year. At the time I was going to study as an exchange student in Sendai through my university and didn’t really know what was in store for me. 6 very short months later I returned home a new person. It was an experience that changed me and matured me more than I could have imagined possible otherwise. So, combined with the unfortunate manner in which I had to leave my program early (on which I will write about later) I immediately started planning on how I could go back. I’m not going to lie, I went through a lot of weird moods and ideas, even going so far as to apply for a full time job in Japan at a tech company for which I really had no business applying to. Needless to say I didn’t get the job.

Luckily, however, my old research adviser in Japan mentioned they had a special graduate program in the sciences for international students. Lots of paperwork and bureaucracy later, I was accepted into the program. That was back in February, almost seven months ago. Since then I’ve graduated with my Bachelor’s in Physics, held a summer job, and moped about waiting to leave. Now here I am, only three weeks away from leaving once again, this time much longer. I hope that a few of you may read this post and decide to stick around and join with me in this experience (albeit vicariously).
Yours truly,

Michael

Leave a Reply

